A Girls Guide Halloween Movie Countdown

Posted: October 25, 2013 in Fun Stuff
Tags: ,

It’s the weekend before Halloween and that means two things: costume parties and scary movie marathons!!

Here’s a list of our top 13 movies to watch for the Halloween season!!

13.  Poltergeist – Watch it unedited; it’s so much better with the parents smoking pot and swearing up a storm!  It’s an amazing segue into the season with laughs and scares throughout.

trickrtreat

Trick R Treat

12.  Trick R Treat – That little sack headed kid is so damn creepy but I just want to give him a hug!  He’d probably stab me though… It  also has instilled a fantasy of having 100+ pumpkins on my porch.

11.  Nightmare on Elm Street – “One, two, Freddy’s coming for you”  There’s a story about a dude who watched this movie and was so freaked out he refused to go to sleep.  When he finally did, HE DIED!

the exorcist

The Exorcist

10.  The Exorcist – I watched this movie once after eating a very “Special” cookie.  I was convinced my boyfriend, now husband, was possessed by the devil.  This is one of the rare horror movies that has held up over the ages and continues to freak me out.

9.  Shaun of the Dead – Totally awesome movie and at this point I (you too?) need a pallet cleanser and there’s nothing like a Simon Pegg and Nick Frost flick to chill me out.

8.  Friday the 13th – Why I refused to go to camp as a kid.  The last scene ALWAYS gets me!!

houseof1000corpses

House of 1000 Corpses

7.  House of 1000 Corpses – Rob Zombies major motion picture debut and an amazing masterpiece!  When was the last time you wanted to hang with the psycho slashers???

6.  SAW – While it spawned a wicked franchise, the original was so….original!  It also had a single subtle scene that continues to freak me out to this day: When the mom runs into the room to see why the kid is screaming and finds a figure shrouded in a blanket just standing there.  TERRIFYING!!!!!!!!

tcm

The fam of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre

5.  Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974) – One of the best slasher films of all time.  This movie will celebrate it’s 40 year anniversary in 2014 and while a lot of other horror becomes laughable and “cheesy” over time this film still continues to terrify our sensitivities and inspire our imaginations.

4. The Lost Boys – Because it’s always on and I’m in need of another pallet cleanser.

3. Evil Dead II – Funny.  Freaky.  Bruce.

2.  Night of the Living Dead – Classic and groundbreaking on so many levels!

michael myers

Michael Myers

1.  Halloween (1978) watched back to back with Halloween (2007) to be watched on Oct 31st.  The original is a classic and Rob Zombies remake is an amazingly beautiful re-imagining.  Scout Taylor-Compton is a scream-siren supreme and Rob Zombie has proven that he is more than a master musician.

Honorable Mentions:

Zombieland

The Shining – I’m going to catch shit for giving this an Honorable Mention only but, while I find this movie super creepy, I’ve always found it too long and I lose interest half of the time.

Hocus Pocus – AWESOME fun movie, but for the kids nonetheless.

Nightmare Before Christmas – See above

Scream – Helped to revive the “Teen Horror” but if I was flipping through the channels and had to choose between Scream and 1-13, I’d choose from my list.

Paranormal Activity – It just freaks me out too much.  I could never watch this by myself.

scared

What I surely look like watching most of these movies

What about you?  What’s your favorite scary movie (asked in my best Ghostface impression)?

Happy Halloween!!!

MUAHAHAHAHA!

Comments
  1. Dawn Bogle says:

    Awesome list! Thanks for compiling it and sharing 🙂

Leave a comment