A follower of A Girls Guide, Jessica Eck Jennings, brought up a good topic today.  White it may be a bit icky (especially for the guys) we should think about what we’re going to do post ZPoc during our periods.

Think about it; it’s that wonderful time of the month, and for whatever reason, you’re outta tampons/pads/etc.

What do you do?

Back in the day, women used pieces of fabric to absorb the blood.  Often times these pieces were old rags which is where the term “On the rag” derives it’s origin.  Anyways, women would wear a bit in their undergarments, and when it was at capacity, they would swap it out for a fresh one, and clean that one.  Gross by our standards today, but just another part of being a women during “the good ol days”.  A lot of women in this world still do this.  Think about that for a second.

If you’re looking for a product to stash in your Oh Sh!t/Bug Out Bag I would opt for The Cup, even though I find the idea repugnant. If you’re not familiar with The Cup, it’s a reusable plastic cup thingy that you wear inside you that collect the blood.  When it’s full, you pull it out, rinse, and reuse.  Many brands state that their product will last for up to 10 years, in usage, making it a great feminine preppers item.

Kinda looks like a little plunger, doesn’t it?

Believe it or not, but with the movement towards Environmentally Friendly everything nowadays there are ladies who are opting for reusable cloth menstrual pads.  I myself am not one of these women and do not plan on becoming one unless forced to.  That said, here’s a couple links in case you’re interested: http://lunapads.com/and http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com/sanitarypads.htm.

Now, while I’m not ready or willing to make the switch to reusable, homemade pads right now, it does make me think that maybe I should I buy one of these products and put them in my Oh Sh!t bag just in case.

But what if using cloth isn’t an option?  My brain instantly goes to plant matter of some sort.  While I’ve been researching this, I’ve come across a few vague mentions of tribal women using plant matter but haven’t found a specific type of plant used (except wood pulp, but ouch!).

Some plant/natural matter I would try, if I were in such a situation would be:

  • Moss – It’s super absorbent and found in many different climates.  My main concern with this would be infection.  I would try sterilizing it somehow first, perhaps by boiling it.
  • Sea Sponge – There are manufacturers who make “natural menstrual pads” out of these critters right now so we know it’s a viable option but only if you’re lucky enough to live near an area where these exist.
  • Wool – If you come across some sheep…
  • Cotton – If you happen upon a cotton field…

Now, if we’re outta tampons I’m going to take a wild guess and say that medical attention is probably hard to come by, so I would refrain from trying to DIY yourself some tampons.  TSS or Toxic Shock Syndrome is not something you want to deal with at any time, but especially not with zombies trying to sniff you out.

 

Here are some links for you to check out if you’re interested:

http://www.keeper.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menstrual_cup

http://www.alter-eco.info/tampon-alternatives.html

http://www.themakeyourownzone.com/2010/10/are-women-really-making-their-own.html

 

Comments
  1. The cup is silicone, not plastic, btw. Also, wool would not be a good idea as it wicks away moisture. It would make things way worse. Also it gets hotter when it is wet. Unpleasant all the way around.

  2. I use the cup (diva cup). When I first bought it 8 yrs ago I found the idea really disturbing, but know I wouldn’t be without it. It saves a bundle on feminine products, it is super convenient when you are in the out doors. I love it and highly recommend it to every woman BOB or not.

  3. My mother has been stockpiling toilet paper for years, I figure it’s got something to do with ZPoc… Don’t wanna run out of that either…

  4. Teresea Griffith says:

    Well men hate to say it but looks like your t-shirt is going to get used up some time in the near future.

  5. I really thought this helped

  6. sonya says:

    Cat tails have fluff inside them before they seed. I guess I would look for a crop that some have already began to bloom with fluff. Also moss but I would worry about bugs…

Leave a Reply

