Makeup.  I’ve always said that it’s never been about other peoples perception of me but something that makes me feel more confident in myself and I’m fairly confident that most other women feel the same way.  In short, makeup is our warpaint.

For centuries, tribes and indigenous hunters have been “painting” their faces in all sorts of manners in order to strike fear in their opponents, camouflage themselves from their prey, and evoke the spirits of totem animals and deities to help conquer their enemies or succeed in the hunt.  But what it all boiled down to was that this war paint boosted their confidence.  It made them feel more brave and powerful.

Us women carry on this tradition today, albeit in a more modern setting.  Most of us spend at least a few minutes a day applying mascara, eye shadow, maybe a little bit of coverup, and some lipstick if we’re feeling a little fancy, before we leave the house and embark on whatever adventures the day has to offer. Why?  Because it makes us feel more confident and powerful.

For instance, most days I wear a bit of mascara and eyeliner.  That’s it.  Recently, I went on a job interview where I knew that my interview was going to be conducted by two women.  I wore my usual mascara and eyeliner but I also added a bit of eyeshadow and lipstick to the mix.  It wasn’t so that they would think “oh my, isn’t she pretty”, it was for me.  I needed to feel a bit more confident in myself that day.  Just in case you’re wondering, I got the job too.

What does this have to do with the zombie apocalypse?  Makeup can become our literal war paint.

I don’t care if anyone thinks it’s stupid or a waste of time; I’ll be putting on my mascara and eyeliner along with some eye shadow and some bright red lipstick if I’m feeling especially scared.  It’s not for them.  It’s not for the zombies.  It’s for me.  It’s my war paint.  It’s my channeling of my inner Amazon.  My evocation of the Valkyries.  My call to honor of every woman who fought before me.  When I look into my own eyes as I apply a black sliver of paint to my lids I won’t see a terrified little girl but generations of strong, confident, tough bitches who never went down without a fight.  And if I do go down, at least I’ll look good doing it.

 

Comments
  1. Jon Britton says:

    You may do it for your own self-confidence, but as an added benefit it will be good for the moral of the men around as well. Most men think women are beautiful with or without make-up, but none can deny that a little make-up goes along way towards making a good thing better. Especially the bright red lipstick, it seems to trigger something primal in men. Not sure why, but now I think I just might do some research on that.

  2. fancieland says:

    Excellent post! This is all so true! Makeup isn’t just for looking pretty its an awesome confidence booster as well!

  3. at school I always feel vulnerable without at least a bit of mascara on, so this is so true!

Leave a Reply

