Rule #6: If It’s Dead, Let It Go

Posted: January 13, 2012 in The Rules
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Rule #6: If it’s dead, let it go.

This is going to be the hardest, shittiest lesson we’re all going to have to learn.  The alternative?  A short life ending in a brutal nasty death.

I think us girls are going to have a harder time with this one than the guys, because whether we like it or not, we have that annoying motherly instinct naturally hardwired into our brains.  God help the parents out there come Zday; I can barely comprehend what they will have to endure and the choices they will have to make.

To be honest, I’m having a hard time writing this one.

When fantasizing about the zombie apocalypse I think most of us imagine ourselves escaping the flesh hungry hordes with our favorite companions.  But what if…what if they die?  Will you be able to leave them?  If you can’t, you’re not going to last long.  Either whatever got them is going to get you or they are going to turn and get you themselves.

We have to remember that once someone is dead, they’re gone.  And while it might hurt like hell it’s going to hurt a lot more when they try to eat you.  No amount of crying and wondering why is going to bring them back or make their death ok.

It sucks, but it’s time to run now.

Comments
  1. Austin Gilly says:

    I have been thinking about this a lot since watching The Walking Dead. You can’t get close to anyone in that show! I’m not ashamed to admit that I have cried a few times at lost lives. When this happens, if it’s during my life, I will do all I can to protect those I love. I don’t know that I’m strong enough to shoot my best friend in the face, or leave those I love to be eaten. I do wonder whether I will run or just give up.

  2. S.Z.P says:

    Another hard lesson. Just as a lame horse is a dead horse, a bitten or lame comrade is a dead one. Leaving them will be a much harder thing to do. I think a lot of people will choose to die for this rather than run. And I honestly can’t fault them for that.

Leave a Reply

